Wednesday Magic District: Paying more

February 3, 2010 at 8:59 am (Magic District)

Phew.  I just finished the manuscript of the third book and sent it away to my editor, and I’m now in the “wandering around the house staring vaguely at spots on the wall” stage of writing.  I hope I’ll be blogging (and updating this site!  finally!) more in the next couple of weeks.  For now, I’m going to tinker with a few short stories, maybe explore a little more in different worlds, and, uh, play lots of video games.  (City 17 is mine!  Or would be, if I weren’t so bad at this game.)

In the meantime, I’ve got a post up at the Magic District sparked by the recent Macmillan/Amazon conflict.  Those of you who are writers or who read writers’ blogs probably know far too much already; those of you who don’t, Rachel Aaron’s post at the Magic District sums up some of it, and I’ve got a few more links in today’s post.  While there’s a lot to be discussed about the whole mess, I’m concentrating on one small part, namely what makes readers pay more for books.   I know my purchasing patterns don’t make much sense, but I suspect there are some factors that come into play for most of us.  Take a look, and let me know what you think.

6 Comments

  1. auntielou said,

    Manuscript off! Woo-hoo! Congratulations!

  2. Paul Granahan said,

    Margaret: I’m sorry if you’ve talked about this before, but do you know why Spiral Hunt is no longer available in a Kindle edition, and whether it’ll be available again? I hadn’t gotten around to purchasing it, and now I’m kicking myself.
    Thanks, Paul

    • mlronald said,

      That’s very strange. No, I don’t know, but I can try to check up on it. Thanks for letting me know!

  3. Victoria Janssen said,

    Nice spots on that wall there….

    • mlronald said,

      I think I’ve moved on from spot-staring to yelling obscenities at the TV and repeatedly getting killed in the game I’m playing. Progress?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

