Reloaded serpents

February 25, 2010 at 8:53 am (Uncategorized)

February is usually my worst month — the weather’s still horrible, there’s no sign of crocuses yet, and it’s hard to remember that spring might still exist.  But for some reason, this February has been full of awesome things like Boskone and, now, news about steampunk.

“A Serpent in the Gears” has sold as a reprint to Ann and Jeff VanderMeer’s Steampunk Reloaded anthology, coming out from Tachyon Press in October.

A look at the Table of Contents shows that this is going to be one fantastic anthology — there’s original art, new fiction, “A Secret History of Steampunk,” a novelette from 1869, nonfiction (ooo…steampunk maker essay…oooo…), and stories from a lot of great writers.

This looks absolutely awesome, and I’m honored to have a story in it.  (Also, on a shallower note, damn that’s a pretty cover.)

(How do you reload a serpent, anyway?  …never mind, shouldn’t post before I have coffee.)

8 Comments

  1. auntielou said,

    Coffee is how you UNLOAD a serpent.

    Anyhow, congratulations.

    • mlronald said,

      …I suspect I don’t want to know how you know this.

      Thanks!

  2. Deklane said,

    Congratulations on getting your story into Steampunk Reloaded! I’m the guy what translated the 1869 story from Danish, and I’m glad to see ol’ Vilhelm’s story will be in the company of good stuff.

    In regard to something in your bio… I wrote a fantasy story in 7th Grade, a very bad imitation of Edgar Rice Burroughs who was just then going through a revival. He wrote a novel called THE MASTERMIND OF MARS, and I thought I’d be witty by writing THE BIRDBRAIN OF MARS. Unfortunately, it was published in the school newspaper… Judging by what people told me at the last high school reunion, copies still exist to this day. Count yourself lucky that your sins of youth have vanished into the ozone!

    • mlronald said,

      Thank you! I’m really looking forward to reading this story, now — can you give me a hint of what’s in it?

      Ha! Sadly, someone who shall remain nameless but who happens to share most of my genes managed to find “The Cases of Detective Snoopy” from back in 2nd grade. I’m just happy most of my stuff from 7th grade on is now missing; I can shrug off the earlier stuff, but wow, did I love to write angst.

  3. Deklane said,

    You want a hint about the 1869 Danish story… All right, though written in 1869, it’s set in the far-future year of 1969 and told in the form of a letter. The narrator is a construction engineer who receives an invitation to attend the opening ceremony for the new canal in Panama. To get there in time, he will have to catch an American air-ship, just then on its maiden voyage around the word and passing through Denmark. The narrative describes the air-ship (fish-shaped with bat-wings) and the ensuing journey. Naturally, if everything went smoothly, there wouldn’t be much of a story, and the letter is postmarked… nowhere near Panama?!

    Even after 140 years, the story seemed still fresh and funny (with occasional 19th Century quirkinesses and amusingly off the mark technological prophesy), and well worth knowing about. Uhm… does that tell you what you wanted to know?

    • mlronald said,

      Ooo…now this really sounds good. Thank you so much for the hint, and for translating it in the first place!

  4. Deklane said,

    It occurs to me that I’ve taken advantage of your blog and good nature to promote a project of my own here. As it happens, I am just now preparing an order to a bookseller that conducts its trade under the name of a mighty South American river. In penance for talking about me on your blog instead of its proprietor, I shall therefore include a request for a book by a young, up and coming fantasy author said to show great promise. Something about a swirly chase in Boston or Braintree or maybe even Framingham…. At least one sale will result from all this, in any event.

    • mlronald said,

      As far as I’m concerned, this sort of cross-promotion is one of the major purposes of blogs (even if it’s usually along the lines of “lookit this cool thing I found!”), so no worries at all. Hope you like it, and thanks again for the sneak preview!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

