Small update and Readercon

July 7, 2011 at 8:57 am (Cons)

Well, a couple of weeks away from the internet has taught me a valuable lesson: I miss the internet.  Even when I don’t have much to say.

Smaller revisions continue, but with an end in sight, and more compositions continue, though slower than I’d like.  I’ve also been noodling around with a few more ideas that will probably require more research.  Back to the library I go!

In the meantime, here’s my Readercon schedule:

Saturday:

10:30 AM  Reading. Margaret Ronald. Ronald reads from a work not yet selected.  (I’ll probably go with “Salvage,” a story that will be coming out in Beneath Ceaseless Skies later on.  Derelict airships ahoy!)

2:30 PM  Beneath Ceaseless Skies group reading. Scott H. Andrews, Michael J. DeLuca, Matthew Kressel, Margaret Ronald. Contributors to Beneath Ceaseless Skies read selections from their work. (Not sure which I’ll read from; depends on how much time we have.)

Sunday:

11:00 AM   Kaffeeklatsch. John Crowley, Margaret Ronald. (11:00 should be late enough that I’ll be able to do more than mumble into my coffee.  We’ll see.)

1:00 PM    I Know What I Like: The Artistic Tastes of Characters. Greer Gilman, Geary Gravel, Resa Nelson, Margaret Ronald, Sonya Taaffe (leader).Exploring the artistic tastes of characters can lead to interesting and subtle exposition of personality–or be a ham-fisted shortcut that reinforces stereotypes. Talking about art also expands the setting of a story, as all art is an expression of culture. What are some of the pitfalls of approaching a character from this angle and how do you avoid them? (I’ve got a couple ideas about broader comments as well — I love describing a new world through its art, especially how it reinterprets its own past through art.  But I’m curious to see where this goes.)
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

