“Goosegirl” up as a podcast!

April 22, 2008 at 7:51 am (Stories online)

“Goosegirl” is now online as a podcast, read beautifully by Mary Robinette Kowal and with an introduction by Rachel Swirsky. (I’m listening to it now, but have to run off to work as soon as it’s done, so I’ll add more on this later.) Enjoy!

Update 4/24: Okay, that was just awesome.  It’s strange, but hearing someone else read it is a little like seeing an illustration, or some other interpretation — the characters sound entirely different from how I’d imagined, but they sound so right.  All of a sudden, I’m hearing different nuances, aspects of the characters that I’d never seen but that were there.  Or perhaps they weren’t there at all, until the reader brought them out into life.

I suspect I’m starting to tip over into either philosophy or literary theory, and I’ve promised myself I wouldn’t do that without at least two drinks in me.  So I’ll just wrap up by restating my opinion: that was awesome.

Leave a comment