Transcriptase

July 31, 2008 at 9:21 am (Stories online)

Okay.  Here’s the bare-bones summary.

Helix is a magazine that has published some excellent stories and poetry.  However, for a number of reasons (most of which are detailed here), I feel I can no longer support it.

A number of Helix authors have put up Transcriptase, a site dedicated to reprints of works originally published in Helix.  Among them is my short story “Funeral Games,” which originally appeared in the July 2007 issue.   

It’s been difficult for me to articulate how I feel about all this.  I loved the stories and poetry that appeared in Helix, and I was proud to have one of my stories in such company.  But I don’t want to support, even tacitly, a magazine whose representative has acted in this manner.

And yeah, all that probably counts as “pantiwadulous.”  So if you need me, I’ll be doing the dance of pantiwadulosity over here.  As for you, go read some excellent work at Transcriptase.

3 Comments

  1. Allegra said,

    Good for you! Yet another reason to be proud to be friends with you.

    Now I’m jealous. I want to be pantiwadulous!

  2. Sara Genge said,

    What would the dance of patiwadulosity look like? It sounds like it would be silly and fun.

    Transcriptase has made us proud of our pantiwadulosity. Yay for it!

  3. mlronald said,

    The dance of pantiwadulosity probably involves a lot of high kicks. Or some of the “argh can’t fix this in public” type moves.

    And yeah, I’m proud of my pantiwadulosity. Yay Transcriptase!

Leave a Reply

