NY Comic Con and Boskone

February 4, 2009 at 7:45 am (Cons)

I’ll be at New York Comic Con this weekend, appearing on one panel: “Kick-Ass Female Authors and Killer Heroines,” Sunday, 1:45-2:45.

Eos and Avon Books have a question for you — Why are vampires, werewolves, fairies, angels, demons, and denizens of the otherworld so damned sexy? USA Today notes, “The hottest bad boys in contemporary fiction are cold-blooded vampires. Not since Anne Rice’s bestselling series about Lestat have so many readers thirsted for novels about blood drinkers who are sexy as well as scary.” The authors making names for themselves writing these dark daydreams have opinions on the category-killer appeal of their books and why readers are turned on by kick-ass female protagonists who are just as strong and in-control as their He-Man mates. Panelists include Kim Harrison (White Witch, Black Curse), Jeaniene Frost (At Grave’s End), Vicki Pettersson (City of Souls), Jocelynn Drake (Dayhunter), and Margaret Ronald (Spiral Hunt). The event is moderated by Michael Spradlin (The Youngest Templar).

The panel sounds great, but I have to admit that half the reason I’m going is my inner fangirl.  Every time I check the NY Comic Con page, there’s something new for me to goggle over.  I know that I’ll probably have no time to see half of what looks interesting, but I still keep checking to see what’s up on the site.

I’ve only been to one other comic convention. (Book and scifi conventions are another matter; Arisia, Boskone, Readercon, WisCon, and I’m hoping to make it to this year’s Worldcon.)  That was over ten years ago, in my home town, and the entire convention could fit in a gymnasium.  Somehow I suspect this will be a very different experience.

And speaking of other conventions, the weekend after that (February 13-15), I’ll be at Boskone.  I won’t be appearing on any programming, but I’ll be attending and, with luck, helping out with the Viable Paradise brunch.  Tasty baked goods and a writers’ workshop.  What more could you ask for?

6 Comments

  1. kouredios said,

    Hmm. I’m thinking about WorldCon this year too. I’ve actually never been to a con, and I’m wondering if I should go to Boskone as a warm-up. Thoughts?

  2. Auntie Lou said,

    Kick-ass Maggie!

  3. 2.0 said,

    Remember, get as many autographs as possible for Ben and I, stuck in lowly Bloomington and covered in dirty snow.

  4. 2.0 said,

    Holy crap, the line-up has really expanded since the last time I looked! Awesome!

    • mlronald said,

      Kouredios, WorldCon can be one heck of an overload. (I hadn’t quite yet learned my limits and ended up totally snapping halfway through. I got better.) Regardless, though, Boskone is a very good convention, oriented more towards the reading/criticism side of fandom, though slightly less so than Readercon. Take a look at some of the programming from last year and see if that gives you some idea.

      Auntie Lou, thank you!

      2.0, don’t get your hopes up. I don’t know how much time I’ll actually be able to spend in autograph lines. But I will try to come home with some swag for you. And yes, the lineup is fantastic.

  5. 2.0 said,

    Oh, don’t worry about it. Swag is more than acceptable.

Leave a Reply

