Wednesday Magic District: Stuck

May 20, 2009 at 7:56 am (Magic District)

Today’s Magic District post offers a glimpse of my writing process — specifically, the part of the writing process that happens when I get stuck, stuck, stuck.  I’m not thoroughly stuck* at the moment, just wrestling with a piece of the story that isn’t turning out how I’d planned.

And here I thought setting all of my characters on fire would help matters.

 

* And yes, I know that sounds a bit like the old assertion: “We’re not lost.  If we were lost, we wouldn’t know where we are.  And we know we’re here.  So we’re not lost.”

1 Comment

  1. auntielou said,

    Didn’t you answer your own question in an earlier entry? Go to the gym. Take a walk. Lie on the floor and look at the ceiling. If you know where you need to get in the story, some part of you is working on getting there. You just need to get the worry part out of the way. I think.
    Anyhow, the timing of this conference seems fortuitous. (Surely that’s not spelled right.)
    Have fun.

Leave a Reply

