Wednesday Magic District: The long dark night of the revision

September 16, 2009 at 7:47 am (Magic District)

There will always be those times when writing becomes a chore and you can’t see a way out of the dilemma you’ve written yourself into.  And neither can your characters, because you’ve written them all as implausible idiots.  And what’s with that setting? Internal consistency has gone out the window, has it?  And we’re not even getting into the plot problems…

Yeah.  Always that point where the entire work feels like a waste of time.  Hell, I hit that point a couple of weeks ago and I’m fully expecting to have a recurrence before I finish this draft.  But I have to keep on writing.  It’s too bound up in my belief in who I am.  I am a writer, therefore I write even when I’m convinced it’s terrible.

So that’s what today’s Magic District is about: writing even when it doesn’t seem worth it, and getting through the bad patches.  Because it will be worth it when it’s done.  You just have to get there.

Leave a Reply

