News: Off to the Berkshires

October 2, 2009 at 7:37 am (Appearances)

Your promised news: nothing to do with new fiction, sadly (bangs head against manuscript), but something a little more entertaining.  On Thursday, October 15, I’ll be heading back to my alma mater Williams College (nestled in the scenic Berkshires, right next to Colonial Pizza*) for an evening talk with Elizabeth Bear.  Sponsored by Inkberry and the Williams English Department, the event starts at 7:00 and, as far as I’m concerned, goes till people are tired of listening to us.

The official description’s below.  If you’re in the area, come and see us!

An Evening With Elizabeth Bear & Margaret Ronald

Enjoy an evening of speculative fiction with award-winning author Elizabeth Bear and up-and-coming author Margaret Ronald ’97 . Bear is author of the Shakespearean fantasy novels of the Promethean Age series (most recently Hell and Earth) and of two trilogies of Norse fantasy, as well as two trilogies of science fiction. Ronald is author of the critically-acclaimed Spiral Hunt and its forthcoming two sequels. After each writer reads from her published work, both writers will take questions about their work, speculative fiction, the literary life, how they got into “the business,” etc. Book-signing to follow. Presented by the English Department and Inkberry.

* Actually, is Colonial Pizza still there?  I mostly remember it from the WCFM carts; I think I ate there maybe once in four years. And just asking that question makes me feel old and cranky . . . I gotta get a lawn so I can tell kids to get off it.

4 Comments

  1. rbarenblat said,

    Colonial Pizza moved down the road to the Colonial Plaza shopping center several years ago, after the fire on Spring Street which damaged the building in which it had once resided. So that old ‘cfm cart is no longer factual.

    I go to Colonial now and then; they make a pretty tasty meatball grinder, and they have free wifi, which is always a fine thing. 🙂

  2. Juniper said,

    OK, that’s pretty durn cool. Elizabeth Bear is a spiffy srius authar to be talking with!

  3. Kirsten said,

    I think Colonial’s pizza is much improved (i.e. not so greasy) from days of yore.

  4. mlronald said,

    I admit Colonial Pizza is more of a touchstone than anything else — it’s just something I remember from the carts and Spring Street. Has anything good taken its place?

    And Kirsten, I barely remember the grease. I do know I didn’t much like Hot Tomatoes, but that’s because I don’t like tomatoes in general, and their name is very accurate.

    Silly to be fussing over pizza of all things, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

