Second time around!

January 12, 2010 at 11:10 am (Personal)

Last year around this time, I was fiddling with my editor’s revisions to Wild Hunt, judging how far I’d come with the early (and massively flawed) draft of the third book, and biting my nails to the quick over the impending release of Spiral Hunt.

Unfortunately, due to a number of problems coming together in a Great Conjunction of Awful, I ended up working overtime on the actual release date, as well as a couple days before and after.  I barely had time to stop and remember that yes, I had a book out that day.  And while I’ve since brought that into my everyday consciousness — enough that I can sometimes stop myself from getting depressed by remembering hey, I’ve got a book out there!  And it doesn’t suck! — I do regret not enjoying that first release date.

So today I’m taking the day off, relaxing a little, and going out for high tea.  Granted, eating little cucumber sandwiches with the crusts cut off is not quite the same as getting solidly drunk for a week (which was one of the first pieces of advice I had regarding how to handle the release date), but both have their therapeutic value.  And this year, maybe I’ll shed some of my nervous habits about the books, now that there’s more out in the world.  (First resolution: stop looking at the Amazon ranking especially when I have no idea what it means.)

If you’re interested in Wild Hunt but don’t know yet if you want to buy it, take a look using the widget on the left here.  You’ll be able to read a good chunk of the novel, and by the time you hit the end of the offered pages, you’ll know whether it’s got your attention.  And by then, it will be too late!  *cue maniacal laughter*

And thanks again to everyone who’s read the books, everyone who reads this blog, and anyone who’s enjoyed my stories over the last few years.  These stories are so much fun to create, and I’m so glad to be able to share them with you.

10 Comments

  1. Victoria Janssen said,

    I’m waiting for it to arrive in the mail!

    • mlronald said,

      Soon, soon the US Postal Service will do my bidding!

      …er, in that it delivers my book. Yes.

  2. Tiff said,

    Woot. Congrats! Wild Hunt should be on my doorstep tomorrow. So excited! I absolutely adored Spiral Hunt.

    • mlronald said,

      Yay! I’m so glad — I hope you like this one as well!

  3. Karen Mahoney said,

    I’m just reading Spiral Hunt and really enjoying it! Looking forward to picking up Book 2 soon. 🙂

    Cheers,
    Karen

    • mlronald said,

      Wonderful! I hope you have as much fun reading it as I had writing it.

  4. Sarah Lawton said,

    Ordered my copy! Can’t wait.

    • mlronald said,

      Hope you like it!

  5. Linda Ronald said,

    Whewwww! Just finished and liked Evie even better the second time around! Makes me want to go back to the Gardner again too. I’m a little worried about that scar though. Congratulations on another spellbinder.

    • mlronald said,

      Glad you liked it. And yes, any excuse to go to the Gardner is a good one.

      As for the scar…hm, there’s no good way to communicate evil laughter over the internet, is there? Rest assured that I have not forgotten it.

Leave a Reply

