Hello, writers

March 3, 2010 at 8:59 am (The Internet Is Full of Things)

Hello, writers.
Look at your manuscript.
Now back to your bookshelves.
Now back at your manuscript.
Now back to your bookshelves.
Sadly, your manuscript isn’t a book on those shelves.
But with the help of Viable Paradise, the one-week writers’ workshop, it could have a better shot at being a book on those shelves.
Look down.
Back up.
Where are you?
You’re on Martha’s Vineyard, at the workshop that could turn your manuscript into grade-A material.
What’s in your hand?
Back at me.
I have it.
It’s an oyster, with critiques from some of the top writers and editors in the field.
Look again.
The manuscript is now a diamond-encrusted Hugo award.
Anything is possible with Viable Paradise.
I’m on a horse.

(If this makes absolutely no sense to you, see here. It won’t make much more sense, but it’ll explain the word choice at least.  Standard disclaimers apply, not all Hugo awards are diamond-encrusted, etc.)

20 Comments

  1. Terri-Lynne said,

    That was AWESOME!!! I love that commercial. Great tie in. And great endorsement to a workshop that changed my life as a writer. (VPX) Do you mind if I link to this on my Live Journal?
    (We met at Boskone–briefly. I hung out with John Chu and Jen Pelland a lot. I’m the one with all the tattoos on her legs.)

    • mlronald said,

      I remember you! I’m sorry I didn’t get to talk more with you — maybe another con sometime? And go ahead and link if you like; it’s very silly, but once the idea got into my head it would not leave.

      • Terri-Lynne said,

        Readercon, perhaps? It looks like I’m going. But now that Jen has warned me of your evil twin, I’m scared! 😉

      • mlronald said,

        There’s nothing to be scared of! Really!

        …and who says she’s the evil one?

      • Terri-Lynne said,

        All pimped! Your post AND VP. And I’m very jealous you get to be staff!

  2. Chang said,

    MAGGIE FTW!!!!!!!

    • mlronald said,

      WOOOO!!! *happy dance*

  3. Charice said,

    That was possible the best enticement for a writing workshop, ever!

    • mlronald said,

      I almost wish I had the charisma to pull it off in a filmed version. Sadly, I lack both that and a horse.

      (Seriously, it’s a fantastic workshop. I’ll be helping out again this year as staff, and I’m really looking forward to it.)

      • Sarah said,

        I almost wish I had the charisma to pull it off in a filmed version. Sadly, I lack both that and a horse.

        But you have a diamond-encrusted Hugo award? I want one too!

        I’m jealous of you staff, getting to go back to Viable Paradise every year.

        – Sarah (VP XII)

      • mlronald said,

        No Hugo, diamond-encrusted or otherwise. Though I wonder if any place makes them out of chocolate.

        This is only the second year I’ve been back as staff, and it’s a very different experience. It’s a little like watching a play from the wings, rather than the theater.

      • Juniper said,

        See, I love watching plays from backstage. But then, I also love the knowledge that they play wouldn’t go on without all the people back there who you can’t see…

      • Lisa Spangenberg (@LisaSpangenberg) said,

        I know where you can find a horse . . . .

      • mlronald said,

        Heh. Now the problem would be keeping me on it — I think my age was still in singe digits the last time I was on a horse.

  4. Tiff said,

    Ha ha ha. When I first started reading this I thought to myself, “Self, this seems awfully similiar to an old spice ad that I absolutely adore…” I especially like the “I’m on a horse”

    I’m the man your man could smell like.

    • mlronald said,

      And this is the manuscript my manuscript could…smell…like…no, that part doesn’t really work, does it? My manuscripts don’t smell like anything unless there’s been an unfortunate root-beer-related incident.

  5. Erin Underwood said,

    That’s awesome! OMG!

    Thank you for writing this post!!!!!!

    Anyone who reads this and wants to go to VP… GO… Just GO!

    • mlronald said,

      Glad you liked it!

  6. mlronald said,

    Curses, my replies aren’t working properly. Sorry about that; no coffee yet.

  7. DKT said,

    This is great. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

