Return

July 13, 2010 at 7:28 am (Cons)

Had a fantastic Readercon, full of stories and new books and wonderful people and ideas just starting to fizz in the back of my head.  Readercon’s always a slightly strange con for me — I spend half the time having fun conversations and the other half thinking “wow, these people are too cool for me to strike up a fun conversation.” Or, when I do, I can’t hear half of what’s being said. When the cyborg revolution takes over, I’m going to want subtitles for all conversations scrolling across my ocular implants.

(Obviously, my trouble hearing conversations in crowded rooms has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that this 4th of July, the resident organist and I ended up watching the fireworks from across the street — as in, we could see the pyrotechnicians running back and forth.  Half the time I had to remind myself to watch the fireworks, not the people.  Boom!)

Anyway, it was a great con, full of too-short conversations and fascinating stories.  And now, on to the next project, which at the moment involves fixing a crop of short stories so I can have those out the door.

Oh, and the reaction to what I read of Soul Hunt was very encouraging. It also made me wish I had a better “evil author” laugh.

9 Comments

  1. Victoria Janssen said,

    I wish I’d had more chance to talk to you!

    • mlronald said,

      Same here! Next con, maybe?

  2. Allegra said,

    You have a more than adequate “evil author” smile, so I think you are all set.

    • mlronald said,

      It’s almost frightening how much fun it is to do horrible things to my characters. Mostly because I know they’ll make it out all right.

      Well, some of them will.

  3. Auntielou said,

    Use your grammy’s evil eye!

    • mlronald said,

      She had one? I remember the “I’m disappointed in you” look, but not very well. That was powerful enough.

      • Auntielou said,

        It’s what got her through all those years of substitute teaching!

  4. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) said,

    Glad to hear you got great responses to your third book. 🙂 I am looking forward to when it becomes available.

    • mlronald said,

      Thank you! To my knowledge, it’ll be out at the end of this year/beginning of next year, but I don’t have a clearer idea beyond that. Hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

