Puppies!

August 6, 2010 at 7:42 am (Soul Hunt)

Okay, so I was overstating matters when I said “light-to-nonexistent blogging.”  But this doesn’t count.  This is something cool to share.  Specifically, some fantastic cover art.

Damn, that is nice.  And it’s got puppies!  Angry puppies!

To my knowledge, this is still tentative art, so they might tweak it a little before it goes out.  But I really, really like this cover.  It hints at a few of the matters that will be resolved in this book…and now I’m back to wishing I had a better evil author laugh.

8 Comments

  1. Auntielou said,

    I think you should add your middle name. Otherwise, it looks GREAT!

    • mlronald said,

      What, and change the font size? MADNESS!

  2. T said,

    Very cool.
    I think this is the best one yet.

    Is this the third in the Hunt trilogy or are there more?

    • mlronald said,

      Thanks! As for whether there’ll be more, that’s a little up in the air right now. I’m currently working on new drafts and new outlines, but to my knowledge nothing’s been decided yet. I’ll update once I know for certain.

  3. horseideology said,

    Wow! That is an awesome cover! I felt that the covers on the two other books was weak but this one makes up for it. Can’t wait to read it!

    • mlronald said,

      I really loved the first one, but this one really blows me out of the water. Maybe it’s the glimpse of Boston on both — the Longfellow Bridge on the first, Copley Square on the other.

  4. Shara White (Calico Reaction) said,

    Will this be a trilogy or a series? Sorry, this is the first time in a while I’ve been at this website, so you may have already answered this question a billion-times over.

    It’s a nice cover, though it doesn’t match the first two in terms of art, which irks me (I’m a slave to consistency). The first two are very striking for how DIFFERENT they look from other UF novels, and also, they’re so very colorful! 🙂

    • mlronald said,

      Well, it’s a little uncertain right now — which is part of why I haven’t answered this question on the blog. (That, and I am slow to update.) I’d thought that this would be a good stopping point, and for a while envisioned it as such…

      …and then got completely blindsided by an idea that’s slowly turning into a first draft. And a synopsis. And a second synopsis. And the crushing realization about five chapters in that I was missing about half the plot. Revision is gonna be fun with this one.

      Whether anything actually comes of this is another matter. I’m hoping to work on a bit more of the big steampunk world (and more short stories in that world will be out soon), but right now I’m dividing my time between them. As soon as I know any concrete details, I’ll pass them along.

Leave a Reply

