Write all the things!

September 12, 2010 at 3:19 pm (Appearances, Cons, Stories online, The Internet Is Full of Things)

A few notes on upcoming appearances, stories, and work:

– This coming Saturday, I’ll be part of a group reading at Pandemonium Books and Games in Central Square to celebrate Strange Horizons tenth anniversary.  Ten SH authors will be reading from their works, followed by questions, talk, and general “wooo great magazine!”-ness.  The fun starts at 2:00 PM — if you’re in the area and would like to hear some awesome science fiction and fantasy, come join us!  If you can’t make it, but would still like to join in the celebration in spirit, consider donating to Strange Horizonsannual fund drive. You might even win one of their fantastic donor prizes!

– I’m going to be at New York Comic-Con again, this time on a panel discussing shapeshifters.  (The big question I want answered: how many authors on the panel are dog people, and how many are cat people?  Three guesses which I am.)  I’ll post more once I’m sure of my schedule — maybe this time I’ll sneak out and play tourist for a while!

– If you liked “A Serpent in the Gears” and wanted to read more set in that world, I’ve got a new short story coming out in a couple of weeks in Beneath Ceaseless Skies.  “The Guilt Child” focuses on an entirely different set of characters, but it’s the same world, and I love these characters just as much.  (Funny, how so much of my writing derives from a desire to introduce people to these amazing characters.  Evie, Charles, the Professora . . . and now Carla and Stamper.)

– In no particular order, I still need to:

  • get my preparations started for Viable Paradise (I’m staff again this year)
  • update my bibliography (which still lists Wild Hunt as forthcoming — yikes!)
  • update the whole site so it’s better suited to my needs
  • get back to blogging on a semi-regular basis
  • attempt to clean before the dust mites grow to the size of my head
  • write ALL the things

Whether I’ll actually manage any of this is another matter, since between the obligations listed above, hammering out a first draft of Dirty Water, assembling the first draft of Breath of the World (keep in mind all titles listed are so very very changeable), chasing down the short stories that keep popping up whenever I try to work out more worldbuilding details, I don’t have much brain left.  And most of that is in a permanent state of “awww” due to my new nephew, my response to whom pretty much matches this.

It’s gonna be one hell of a month.  Totally worth it, though.

5 Comments

  1. Melissa (My World...in word and pages) said,

    Well, sounds like you are going to be busy. 🙂 The month may go quickly for you then.

    I am hoping to make it to NY Comic Con. I am trying to talk my brother into going so I will have some one for the car trip and at the Con. I don’t know if I’ll make it though. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. But if I do make it I will have to see if I can find you. 🙂

    Have a great month.

    • mlronald said,

      It’s already going by far too quickly for my tastes! Wasn’t it August yesterday?

      I hope you make it up for the con. If you do, I’d love to meet you. Thanks!

  2. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) said,

    Hi Margaret,

    I will be making it to the Comic Con on Saturday. I was wondering if you will be around on Saturday and what booth you might be at. I will definitely try to stop by… if I can find it. 🙂 Looks like it is huge there and going to be loads of people.

    Thank you!

    • mlronald said,

      Hi Melissa,

      It turns out that my programming is all on Friday, but I could probably stop by on Saturday as well. Want me to try to find you? (And heck, I’m not yet sure about the booth — I’ll post more information shortly, along with my schedule.)

  3. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) said,

    If you’ll be around on Saturday I can keep an eye out for you. I was thinking of bringing one of the books with me to see if I could have you sign it.

    I will keep an eye out for your post with the information. 🙂

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

