We have no serious posts! Only cake!

December 29, 2010 at 2:06 pm (Appearances, Soul Hunt)

Originally I’d planned to post a little about writing Soul Hunt, specifically the darker parts of it, not just in terms of content but mood.  Evie’s passage through this part of her life is not an easy one, and there were some elements that ended up being  more sensitive to me than I expected.  It was meant to be a very serious post.

However, all seriousness has been pre-empted by last night’s release party and proof that I have the best fans ever:

CAAAAKE!!!

There was a party!  And cake!  And I read from Soul Hunt!  And there was cake!  And people liked it!  And did I mention the cake?  Because it was there!

You are all fantastic.  Thanks to everyone who braved the slush and wind to come out to Pandemonium, everyone who’s commented and written and said hello, and all my wonderful readers.  Any time I start to fret and doubt, all I have to do is remember how awesome you are.

Also: CAKE!

12 Comments

  1. Auntielou said,

    My package arrived from Amazon today.
    Sorry I couldn’t come to the party. Did Ron and Drea make it?
    And was there any cake?

    • mlronald said,

      There was indeed cake! It was tasty!

      Ron and Drea couldn’t make it, alas — they managed to fly out of Boston before then.

  2. johanna said,

    how did i not know about your release party???

    • mlronald said,

      Probably because I’ve been crap at promoting it?

  3. Rachel Barenblat said,

    Was the cake delicious and moist? 🙂

    Happy new book! I can’t wait to read it.

    • mlronald said,

      It was indeed! And completely nonfictional!

      Thanks! I’ll see if I can bring a copy to the Berkshires soon.

  4. Mardel said,

    What a beautiful looking cake, tasty looking also.

    Gosh – Seems like I just found a copy of Spiral Hunt – it was a couple years ago and I read it and it seemed FOREVER til the next books was coming out. I think back when I read Spiral Hunt was before you had even started writing the next one, or at least it wasn’t mentioned yet in your blog. I remember keeping an eye out for a while about it, then finding out you were writing more…and waiting….and waiting….Then I blink my eyes and see TWO other books out. I have them both now, and will read them very very soon. 🙂 Hope the cake was tasty and glad you had a good party.

    • mlronald said,

      Hi Mardel! I hope you like the books, and thank you for the good wishes.

  5. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) said,

    Oh, look at that lovely cake! Congrats on the release! I hope everything goes wonderfully for you. 🙂

    Happy 2011! Best of luck to you in the new year.

    • mlronald said,

      It was such a tasty cake. I probably sounded like a loon for how much I was going on about it, but I was just so happy about it. (Also, cake is one of those things that allows for happy ranting.)

  6. Kate said,

    Okay, that cake looks scrumptious, and cake is the ONLY way to celebrate a book release! Well, okay, maybe pie…

    • mlronald said,

      Obviously, the only answer is BOTH.

Leave a Reply

