Boskone schedule: Wave hands, roll dice

February 14, 2011 at 4:35 pm (Cons)

I’ll be at Boskone this coming weekend, and as usual, I’m in way over my head.  But it looks so very worth it.

Friday, 7:30 PM
Reading – Margaret Ronald
I’m still not yet sure what I want to read.  Probably a short story, probably one of the industrial fantasy pieces.  “The Guilt Child” might be a good one.  I’d read “Recapitulation,” except that I’ll probably be excerpting it for…

Friday, 8:30 PM
Beneath Ceaseless Skies group reading
Here’s to group readings!  Seriously, these are like little samplers of BCS, and there’s something that I love about reading just a few minutes’ worth of story and piquing people’s interest.  It’s probably the same part of me that loves watching trailers as much as the movies themselves.

Saturday, 10 AM
The Art of Handwaving Science
Tom Easton (M), Michael F. Flynn, Jeff Hecht, Margaret Ronald, Ken Schneyer, Joan Slonczewski
On your first day as an SF writer, you’re likely to be faced with the problem of how to write about science that either 1) you don’t have a good grasp of, or 2) nobody has a good grasp of because it doesn’t exist yet. How do you respond?
This will be…interesting, since most of the SF I’ve written is fantasy wearing deely-bobbers.  However, I’ve got a few points to make from the fantasy end of things, particularly regarding “science” that doesn’t exist at all.

Saturday, 12 Noon
Kaffeeklatsch
I’m not actually sure about this, since my final schedule has me on a kaffeeklatsch at noon, while the program listing has me on one at 2:00.  My guess is it’s the latter, but check the schedule at the con to be sure.  Also, I like to say “kaffeeklatsch.”

Saturday, 1 PM
Monsters in the City: Exploring Urban Fantasy
Dana Cameron, Suzy McKee Charnas, Alexander Jablokov  (M), Toni L. P. Kelner, Margaret Ronald
There’s no official program blurb for this, but I’m guessing the title says it all.  I’ll see if I can come up with some recommendations, and we’ll see how the discussion spins.

Saturday, 2 PM
Phantom kaffeeklatsch?

Saturday, 3 PM
Playing with Dice
Peter V. Brett (M), Ethan Gilsdorf, Margaret Ronald
Dungeons and Dragons,along with other fantasy role-playing games, has influenced the lives (and careers) of many professionals in the field. How has an involvement in such activities affected your relationship to the genre? How can you use gaming to help you – as a person or as an active participant within the science fiction community?
Also known as the “I out myself as a huge nerrrrrd” panel (oh come on, like it’s a surprise).  I’ve been asking former members of my gaming group, as well as several more active gamers, if they have any lessons, and they’ve been surprisingly useful.   We’ll try to keep this from turning into Game Anecdote Time.

Sunday, 10AM
The Spirit of the Place
Laird Barron, Charlaine Harris, Alexander Jablokov, Darlene Marshall (M), Margaret Ronald
When scenery is so much a part of the fabric of the story that it almost becomes a character, what does it add to have such intimate settings?
Literary critics help me out: I know there’s a term for the setting that’s so alive it’s nearly a character, but I can’t for the life of me think what it is.

From the looks of it, I’ll be needing a nice long nap come Saturday afternoon.  Will I get one?  Probably not, knowing me.

2 Comments

  1. Darlene Marshall said,

    Naps at cons are a good thing. Pacing yourself helps when those deep discussions keep winding on at 2 in the morning.[g]

    • mlronald said,

      I’m usually pretty good about the 5-2-1 rule. But even with enough sleep, there’s a certain point where a switch flips and I just need to be somewhere else for a little while. It’s a little tough when I’m not staying at the hotel — since Boskone’s local, I just commute over — but it’s possible.

      And, of course, coffee can briefly substitute for a nap.

Leave a Reply

