Anatomy of a revision: Day 3

April 29, 2011 at 11:42 am (Anatomy of a revision)

I think I’ve got how to introduce the character who’s giving me trouble. It means going back to an earlier version of him, but a more consistent one.

It helps that in the month between handing SE over to BRAWL and receiving crits, I started writing the sequel. 40,000 words of sequel mean that I’ll have a running start on that draft — and, even better, much of what I’ve put together can be used to patch up SE. It also became clear when I was writing one scene that it really needed to be in SE rather than later . . . and, going by the crits, it’ll be perfect to add about 3/4 of the way through.

Leave a Reply

