Anatomy of a revision: Days 6 and 7

May 3, 2011 at 7:37 am (Anatomy of a revision)

Day 6: Yeah, so no. Didn’t get the outline of the new Chapter 1 finished, so I’m working on it today. However, I’m using the time to outline chapters 2 and 3, so I’ll be able to stay in composition mode for a while.

I really liked those beginning chapters, but they don’t work for this draft. They’re not the first opening chapters to get ditched; the first draft had what was essentially a three-chapter prologue, and while it was pretty cool, it got junked because it did not match what followed.

Obviously, the only solution is to use the pieces I’ve cut and turn each of them into a new short story.

Day 7: Write a new Chapter 1, keeping some elements of the original. This one’s lumpy, exposition-heavy, and needs more detail, but it does what I want it to do.

Any chapters I compose now will need an extra go-over when I go back to revise this draft, but right now I think this one will do. Moving from composition to editing mode is a little jarring at times, and I’m just glad I was able to get several thousand words down.

Leave a Reply

