Revision: Day 8

May 4, 2011 at 3:54 pm (Anatomy of a revision)

Circumstances keep me away from the computer for most of the day, so I stick to longhand work: scrawling all over Chapter 4 so it’ll match the new Chapter 1 and outlining the new Chapter 5. I prefer to get a solid wordcount down for the day (or, if I’m in full revision mode, one chapter per day), but on days when I can’t be writing, I feel better if I get something done. And this means that once I have the two chapters in between here and there done, I’ll be able to switch right over without taking the time to scrawl and outline.

At least, that’s the plan. And no writing plan ever goes wrong, does it?

Leave a Reply

