Revision: Day 10

May 6, 2011 at 11:52 am (Anatomy of a revision)

Adjusted the conversation in Chapter 2, adding a participant who does more harm than good. (To the conversants, not the story.) The rest of the day is, sadly, a wash, although I get some very nice sibling interaction written as I’m fixing that conversation.

I don’t write about siblings nearly often enough (barring the creeeepy stuff in Wild Hunt). But it’s fun to set several related characters talking to each other, especially when they’re all so well acquainted and willing to needle their siblings mercilessly. This probably says something about how well I get along with my sisters.

Then again, the reader who said she likes how I write siblings (based on some early drafts of SE) also pointed out that all of my characters’ families are either screwed-up or missing people.  Hm.

Leave a Reply

