Revision: Day 13

May 9, 2011 at 11:06 am (Anatomy of a revision)

The end of chapter 3 drags on, and by evening I’m glaring at the screen. Still, I told myself I’d finish it today, and so neither the Dogfish Head beer in the fridge nor Portal 2 nor anything else gets done until I’ve finished it. 2,500 words later and with a splitting headache, I close the chapter.

It’s a hell of a lot better than the Chapter 3 I had before. Still, I hate days where the writing drags like this. They’re part of the job, but damn, do they make my head pound.

On the other hand, I’ve got an outline for Chapter 6 now, including a very nice “hey, remember the consequences you dodged back in Chapter 3? HERE THEY ARE! AND HERE’S ANOTHER ON TOP OF THAT!” moment. Also, since I’m still a little fuzzy on the details of the fights, the outline has one entry just marked “SECONDARY FRACAS.”

Secondary Fracas is more of an album name than a band name. Not sure whose album, though.

2 Comments

  1. Auntielou said,

    About how many hours a day are you spending on this stuff? It seems as if you are getting a TON done. Are you fast or are you taking a long time? Or does it vary?

    • mlronald said,

      It really depends. If I’ve got a good outline, then I can get about 2,000 words in one of the 90-minute blocks I set up for myself. If not, then I noodle and fuss and it takes a lot longer. But it’s several hours a day of focused work.

      The resident organist often sees me lurch down the hall with that “stared at a monitor too long” look.

Leave a Reply

