Revision: Day 26

May 22, 2011 at 1:32 pm (Anatomy of a revision)

It takes a little while, but Chapter 17 is complete. And a lot more streamlined, though it’ll need a second check.

Tomorrow I’ll be composing large chunks of text to patch the gaps I’ve torn in the story, so I print out the first four chapters so I can go over them and start fixing the rough prose that got left in last time. It’ll give me something to do in between composition phases, and something to get my eyes away from the screen. The story now almost holds together; now it’s time to make sure I’ve told it properly.

And you know, these early chapters are pretty good…

2 Comments

  1. Anne Cross said,

    I wish to subscribe to your early chapters. And all the other chapters after them. 🙂 (My dad tried to explain Steampunk to me today. I got to laugh at him. A lot.)

  2. mlronald said,

    “Well, it’s kind of like Jules Verne only maybe there’s giant whales and goggles, goggles are part of it, and then there’s the thing with the rivets…”

    Or you could always just send him this.

Leave a Reply

