Lobsters and the Vineyard (though not together)

October 6, 2011 at 8:14 am (Appearances, Stories in print, Writing work)

The reading at Flights of Fantasy was awesome. Léna is a delightful person, and our hosts Maria and Eleanor made everything perfect. I read a little from the lobster story, because why the heck not, and got to hear a little from Edges.  And then I caught the bus back and found that the resident organist had made pumpkin bread.

Life is good.

Tomorrow I head out to Martha’s Vineyard to help with this year’s Viable Paradise workshop.  I’m staff, so I’ll be sous-cheffing (wow, that is very much not a verb) and shepherding students through workshop.  I loved my time at VP, so it’s great to see other students going through the same thing and finding the same joys I did.  (And the same difficulties — mid-week is always tough, no matter what.)

Other news: the Kindle edition of The Best of Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Year Two is now out, including “A Serpent in the Gears” as well as other excellent stories from BCS.  I’ve been sending some more short stories out into the world, including one that disturbed me while I was writing it and disturbs me still.  And I’ve been going over the Big New Manuscript with a red pen to see what needs to be fixed to bring it out of Crappy First Draft stage.  What’s strange is that aside from a few chapters that would have to be changed simply because of the revisions I made to the earlier book, and a couple of chapters that I knew were iffy when I wrote them . . . it’s not bad.  It almost hangs together.  Maybe I’m getting the hang of this . . . naaaah.

Leave a Reply

