Back from the island

October 17, 2011 at 9:24 am (Uncategorized)

Yow.

Viable Paradise has always been an immersive, intense experience, regardless of whether I was there as student or staff.  This year was no different in that regard, and I suspect I’ll have the ghosts of that week trailing around me for months to come.  When I got home yesterday (and did not post because I was nearly asleep on my feet), there were a few hours where it seemed that everything reminded me of the island.

We had great students this year, and I think the workshop helped all of them.  I even got to stand up in front of them for a few minutes and blither about what it’s like after VP.  And in between the cooking, the administrative matters, the sous-chef duties, my best Counselor Troi/Captain Hufflepuff impersonation, the fudge (dear lord the fudge), the late-night singing, and learning why I should never play poker with Steven Brust (if I want to win, that is; entertainment is another matter entirely), I got four chapters revised and another few for a new, unformed project started.  Hell, I even sold the lobster story while I was there!

Now, to clean up the messes I left behind, scream in horror at my work inbox, and tomorrow, start on the next chapter.

4 Comments

  1. Auntielou said,

    Wow!

    • mlronald said,

      It was fantastic. Exhausting, but fantastic.

  2. BlairMacG said,

    Yeesh, when did you have time to revise stuff? I’m impressed. (And I heard no blithering from you. Truths, yes. Blither, no.)

    • mlronald said,

      In the mornings, before anything got started! And I didn’t do so much the last couple of days…ah, well.

Leave a Reply

