boo

October 31, 2011 at 8:21 am (The Internet Is Full of Things)

I’ve been working on a few more projects: revision, new ideas, and figuring out where this new short story goes after I set everything on fire.  (Really, after you’ve set everything on fire, the story should be at an end, but it isn’t.  Maybe I need to move the fire.) I’ve also discovered that Brewer’s Dictionary of Phrase and Fable is the paper ancestor of TV Tropes — I can spend hours going from cross-reference to cross-reference, only to remember after I’m done that I really did have something to look up in the first place.

I’m unlikely to be dressing up for Halloween, sadly; we don’t get many trick-or-treaters at our house, and I have few other excuses.  But in the spirit of the season, here are some beautiful and chilling comics from Emily Carroll.  I first found these last year with “His Face All Red,” and spent a good long time shivering after reading it.

Out the Door (just one page)

His Face All Red (several pages, keep following the links at the bottom)

Margot’s Room (five parts, all linked from this central page; follow the rhyme at the top for the order)

What spooky stories do you share on Halloween?  What gives you a chill?

 

(and if all that was too much spookiness, here, have a duck.)

1 Comment

  1. Allegra said,

    Wow, those sure were something! Time to spend some time going through her website!

Leave a Reply

