New year, new revisions

January 3, 2012 at 11:53 am (Writing work)

Well, that was too long a hiatus.

Happy New Year, everyone!  I’ve been doing the Internet equivalent of hiding in a cave for the past few months, but they have not been unproductive months.  Trouble is, everything’s still in the intermediate stages.

I’ve found that I work best when I have several projects going at once, all in different stages of completion, and these last few months have been no different: one novel in research, one noodling around with early composition, and one in heavy revision.  It’s this last one that I’m considering blogging over the next couple of months.  The novel (a sequel to the one that got revised in Anatomy of a Revision) is almost ready to go to BRAWL, but it needs to be polished up and made readable.  The plot works, but it’s a bumpy ride.

Since at this stage what I’ll be doing is taking the scrawled-on manuscript (198 pages scrawled so far, ~120 to go) and incorporating those comments, I think I’d like to post some of these manuscript comments.  This is a much closer look at the revision than the earlier stage — in fact, it’s closer to the blitz-through-the-lot that I did at the end of May. (Not doing that in three days again, I can tell you.)  Would this be useful or interesting to anyone out there?

I’ll be starting a week from today (family obligations this week, plus that gives me time to scrawl on those last 120 pages), and I’d like to get this done in about a month.  We’ll see whether it’s possible.

1 Comment

  1. Auntielou said,

    Yes, please! I always learn a lot.

Leave a Reply

