More revisions: day two

January 19, 2012 at 11:17 am (Writing work)

Blocking out a full hour and a half of solid writing time works.  Three points of view today, one of which is not in very good shape (character-wise, not narrative-wise — I do awful things to my narrators), and I make it through Chapter Five.  This revision is going more quickly than I’d expected.  Wonder when it’s going to fall apart.

Comments from the MS:

Need a physical description of this character
Describe effect of [thing] ONLY here
Add from p. 92
Make sure not redundant w/ch. 1
Awkward phrasing (all over the damn manuscript)
Check earlier form of address
Remove name of house through MS
Add notes on novel vs reality
Cut, condense (lather, rinse, repeat…)

2 Comments

  1. Mary Alexandra Agner said,

    I may be mis-remembering, but I think you’ve listed the need to refrain from describing a thing more than once. I’m finding that fascinating. Is that part of making sure the reader only gets certain information when you need them to?

    • mlronald said,

      Yes and no. Sometimes it’s a matter of keeping track of information. Sometimes it’s because I’ve described the same thing too many times (in first drafts, I’m sometimes uncertain where to put a description, so I add it several times). Sometimes it’s a matter of pacing. And sometimes it’s just that the description is hammering on it too much (i.e., yes, her dress is torn, we get it already). It’s a matter of where I want the reader’s attention, and if I’m repeatedly drawing it back to an irrelevant description, it’ll be frustrating.

Leave a Reply

