Lobster!

May 17, 2012 at 11:04 am (Stories online)

This is what happens when I get eaten by revision*: I miss important things! “The Governess and the Lobster,” an incredibly silly little story, is now up at Beneath Ceaseless Skies.  It’s…well…this was one of those stories where I wrote the first line, thought “This is ridiculous,” and then went ahead with it anyway.  It’s also one that I love to read aloud, if only because I can almost get the right amount of gravel in Matron Jenkins’ voice.  If you’re interested in epistolary stories, a few skewered Gothic tropes, and automata, go take a look!

Dear Matron Jenkins,

For the record, I want you to know that the mechanical lobster is not my fault.

 

* more than a third done!  Not counting the three chapters I’ll have to write from scratch…oh well.

6 Comments

  1. Greg Wilson said,

    I would say “endearing” rather than “silly” — enjoyed it a lot, look forward to more of Rosalie Syme and the children. Oh, and the tram: would definitely like more of the tram.

    • mlronald said,

      I’ve been having a lot of fun writing mechanical/not-quite-human characters recently, as well as their uncertain relationships with humans. (I also devoted probably more thought than was necessary to the whole concept of automata music, enough that I may have to write a separate story for it.) I’m glad you liked it!

  2. Mike said,

    I really enjoyed this story. In fact I have only read (so far) your stories on BCS. I am completely fascinated by the world that you have created and I want to see more… and a map… a map of the world would be nice.

    • mlronald said,

      I’m glad you like it! I’m working on more in this world, but the map is, at the moment, only a sketched-out series of blobs and “???” together. Maybe some day I’ll get a real map drawn.

  3. vin number said,

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any ways to help prevent content from being ripped off? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • mlronald said,

      I haven’t really run into it much, although that may just be because I’m Captain Oblivious. Sorry not to be more help.

Leave a Reply

