Sad lack of Wiscon

May 27, 2012 at 8:11 am (Cons)

This is the first Memorial Day weekend in a good long while that I haven’t been at Wiscon, and I can’t help feeling a little melancholy.  I’d gotten very used to that moment of connection and thought and outright silliness.  (And there’s a very materialistic part of me that misses the clothing swap, but since I hit the jackpot last year I really have no right to complain.)  My thoughts are with everyone there; raise a glass for me.

In the meantime, I’m drowning my sorrows in Rock Band, cinnamon rolls, and hiking, not in that order.  I also took a quick break from revision to write something new, and while I’m still too close to know whether I did a good job, it feels like a good story.  Not least because I got to write several mad-science monologues.

Best part of revision recently: fixing a logistics problem and in the process making one character delightfully more sinister.  No matter how well it’s justified or how true it is in-story, the line “this is for your own good” immediately makes the scene a little more unsettling.

Leave a Reply

