News and FogCon!

March 4, 2013 at 7:46 am (Cons, Stories in print, Stories online)

A few updates for a Monday morning:

– I can’t believe I haven’t mentioned this yet, but “Sunlight Society” has been reprinted in Rich Horton’s anthology Superheroes, out now!  With stories by Peter S. Beagle, Kelly Link, Leah Bobet, Carol Emshwiller and more, the anthology is amazing, and I’m thrilled to be a part of it.

– “Serpent in the Gears” has been reprinted, this time as audio fiction in the Steampunk Specs compilation.  Available both as audiobook and CD, the audio anthology includes some fantastic stories by steampunk masters, and my story as well.

– A new story will be out in Beneath Ceaseless Skies later this week: “A Family for Drakes,” which, though not explicitly set in the same industrial fantasy world, could certainly have some of the same hallmarks if you move back a few centuries.  It’s a bit grim in places, though I think ultimately hopeful.  It’s also a bit strange, in that I dreamed a scene in this story about ten or so years ago, and it’s only just now made it into a real story.  Inspiration from dreams is a chancy thing — do it too often and you end up with the Tale of Missing Your Flight While Naked And Also Behind On Your Deadline — but now and then, something’s come through that way.  I’ll say more about it when the story’s up, but that post may be a little delayed, because…

– I’m going to FogCon this coming weekend!  Which, yes, means that I’ll be on the West Coast for about a week.  It’s been far too long since I was in San Francisco.  I’ll be with family for a lot of it, but if you’re at FogCon, come say hi!  (Really.  It’s my first time there, and I suspect I’m going to feel so very very lost.)

Writing-wise, I have one more round of revisions to do before I hand this draft over to BRAWL (biggest problem: make the ending understandable) and because of that “Detective in Urban Fantasy” panel at Boskone, I now find myself with a first-draft Hercule Poirot pastiche set in a semi-urban fantasyland.  I don’t even know any more, man.  Inspiration is nuts.

Leave a comment